I’m glad you’re all here with me!

*Disclaimer: I actually believe no one will be reading this. I’m completely ok with that. This is my space in the ‘ol Interwebs, not yours. Buzz off, noob.

I’m DrB, and I work in Natural Resources research at a major research university. Recently, I have finished a postdoctoral appointment, and successfully interviewed for an assistant professorship at this university. Did I mention that I love my university? I really, really do. It’s full of incredible people, and I’m constantly amazed at the brilliant work that goes on here.  I don’t remember when I realized that I wanted to be a faculty member at a research university, but it feels like it’s been a part of my plan for a long time.

And yes, there is an actual plan. The plan is sort of… fluid… but it does exist!

So, I’m about to become an assistant professor. My own research. My own grants. My own students. My own terror at being responsible for literally everything that goes on in my lab. I’m starting this blog as an early attempt at corralling my thoughts, because that’s often a difficult task and it seems like something a “professor” should be able to do.

Actually, I don’t really know what a professor “should” do. I know what I’d like to do, and what I’ve seen successful and not-so-successful faculty do. I’ve had the privilege of working with some exceptional research faculty. Professors who engage with their students, in the classroom and in the lab, instructing and listening, correcting and encouraging. I know graduate students who would go to their major advisor for every type of advice. I also know graduate students who have seen their major advisors once every 6 months at most, who don’t know any way to contact their advisor except via email. I know professors who can’t tell you what their student is working on at a particular point in time, and don’t know if they have a piece of equipment in their lab or not. I know professors who take on graduate students to make them proteges, not colleagues. I know faculty members who don’t bother to learn the names of undergraduates working for them.

Pretty sure I know which type of professor I’d like to be. Let’s see how this goes.

